March 2024 MMH Release

3/4/2024

Hi! Welcome to the March MMH blog hop! What a great release at the perfect time. All the cherry blossoms trees in my area are blossoming. It is wonderful inspiration to create cards.

Experience the breathtaking beauty of misty mountains and tranquil waters with our March My
Monthly Hero kit. Featuring a 6″ x 8″ clear stamp, a generous number of coordinating dies, and
a stunning patterned gate window die, this kit offers a glimpse into the wonders of nature and
beyond. The Rub-on Transfers and 3 ink cubes, complete this serene and elegant Classic kit.

Classic Kit Contents:

  • Clear Stamp Set, 6”x 8”
  • 17 Coordinating Frame Cuts
  • Cover Plate Window Die
  • 2 Rub-On Transfer Sheets
  • 3 Ink Cubes (Cherry, Periwinkle, Deep Ocean)

The Premium Kit includes additional elements to extend the potential for more cards and
techniques – even more Creativity In The Box! In addition to all the Classic Kit components, the
highlight of our expanded kit is a beautiful floral stamp set filled with everyday messages that
you will repeatedly use, 10 coordinating dies, and our new Translucent Pinks Hero Hues
Enamel Dots.

Premium Kit Contents:

  • Clear Stamp Set, 4”x 6”
  • 10 Coordinating Frame Cuts
  • Translucent Pinks Hero Hues Enamel Dots

I used the Premium kit to create this project. I stamped the image on Bristol smooth paper using Contour Ink. I colored the cherry blossoms with my Tombow Dual brush pens and a Waterbrush. I am still new to the no-line watercolor technique but I was pleasantly surprised with the results. For the background I die cut the cover plate die with Pine Cardstock. I also die cut a circle slightly larger than the circular opening from Peony Cardstock. I ink blended the edges with Azalea ink and adhered it to the Pine panel. I die cut the blossoms using the coordinating die and heat embossed the sentiment. For a finishing touch I used the Translucent Pinks Hero Hues Enamel Dots that came in the kit.

For my Add-On card I used the Bonsai Fancy die. I die cut with Pesto, Peony, Cup o Joe, and Charcoal cardstock and then added a little ink blending in coordinating colors to highlight the intricate die. For the background I used the cover plate die (with the center removed) from the Classic kit. I did some more ink blending with Peony and Cotton Candy inks around the edges of the panel. The sentiment is from Friendly Messages bundle.

When I saw this kit it reminded me of a Japanese Brush Painting class at the art center where I work. The students create these beautiful and elegant monochromatic pieces. I wanted to represent that inspiration with stamps on a card.

The inks I used were Contour Ink for the water, Granite ink for the mountain, an old MMH kit ink (dark grey/blue) for the shadows on the mountain, Charcoal for the moon and reflection. I used Intensified Black for the crane, pagoda sentiment. I wish I had heat set in between each color because there was some bleeding. For the background used the cover plate die on Charcoal cardstock and then used the Hero Transfers from the kit in just a few areas.

We will give away a $50 gift card, drawn from the comments left across the hop. Enter by
Sunday, March 10th at 11:59pm PT, and the winner will be announced on the Hero Arts blog
the following week. Thanks for stopping by!

Hero Arts

Hero Arts Creative Team:

Natasha Vacca

Dana Joy

Michelle Short

Jennifer Kotas

Rosie Lopez

Heather Ruwe —–Next Stop

Mindy Eggen

Natasha Polite

Channin Pelletier

Rachel Kleinman

Jeannie Lieu

Seeka

Karen Brown

Charlene Madrid

Pocono Pam

Kailash Naidoo

Lydia Fiedler

Special Guests:

Nichol Spohr

Emily Midgett

Kelly Taylor  

27 thoughts on “March 2024 MMH Release

  1. Such beautiful cards.. That pink and green go so well together. I also really love the look of the mountain card. That would be such an awesome masculine card. tyfs :) hagd

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rosie these are stunning! You have brought such elegance with the grey card and I love the script peeking out from underneath the design – beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The pink and green card is so pretty! But I absolutely love the grey heroscape scene! Wonderful cards! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  4. Wonderful cards! I love the gorgeous cover plate design and the cherry blossoms! Beautiful bonsai and scene designs too!

    Like

  5. Beautiful cards! I especially love the scene card in grey tones–the neutral palette really showcases the awesome images.

    Like

Leave a comment