Layered Tiles

6/9/2024

One of my favorite themes from the June Hero Studio is the tiles from the Extraordinary Extras! These items will restocked if they go out of stock, unlike the Card kit of the Month. When I saw the tile stencil and stamp set I knew instantly what I wanted to do with them. They remind me of the handprinted tiles from Mexico I saw on vacation.

For both projects, I started with the stencil so I would have even spacing between tiles. For the blue card I used Summer Sky ink. For the colorful card I did rows of Butter Bar, Papaya, Azalea, Fresh Lawn and Summer Sky.

Then I put those stenciled panels in the Misti and got to stamping. The Misti made quick work of the stamping. I introduced Nautical ink to the previous inks. I lined up 3 or 4 stamps at a time and then used the same inks to layer on top of the stenciled tiles. I wasn’t going for perfection here, the tiles are hand painted and I like the look of imperfection so if the ink was uneven, I didn’t really a second or third pass.

The blue ones were really easy as I only used two inks Summer Sky and Nautical. It looks like more inks because I ink blended the stencil and stamped with summer sky which gave me two shades of the same color plus the nautical.

I finished the cards with a Gracias die from Simon Says Stamp and some pearls. Now, I am in need of a Feliz Cumplianos and other Spanish sentiments.

Thank you for stopping in and reading my blog. šŸ™‚

Leave a comment